16 SARS agents indicted for murder in five states – presidential committee

Posted by on Oct 24, 2020, Under: News

16 SARS agents indicted for murder in five states – presidential committee

At least sixteen agents of the disbanded Special Anti-Robbery Unit were brought to trial.

The officers were reportedly charged with extrajudicial killings and enforced disappearances in five states and in the federal territory of the capital, Abuja.

Saturday’s PUNCH reports that 16 officers have been recommended for criminal prosecution by the President’s Special Anti-Rogue Team.

The report was presented to President General Muhammad Bukhari (ret.) On June 3, 2019.

It was recently presented to the Police Service Commission, the Inspector General of Police and the Federation Attorney General following the #EndSARS protests for criminal and disciplinary action.

The report accuses a total of 35 police officers in 12 states and the PKT of various rights violations, including extrajudicial executions, death in police custody, illegal arrests, partial investigations, illegal intimidation, stalking, criminal assault, torture, etc. D. cruelty, inhuman and degrading treatment, death threats, extortion and confiscation of property, among others.

In addition to the FCT, the 12 states in which offender officers allegedly committed reported rights violations are Aqua Ibom, Benue, Delta, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Kaduna, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Ogun and Rivers.

An analysis of our reporter’s report revealed that 16 of the 35 accused officers were charged with extrajudicial executions and enforced disappearances in five states and the FTS.

The five states are Lagos, Kaduna, Imo, Delta and Enugu.

Imo State, where seven officers have been charged with extrajudicial executions, has the highest number of confirmed cases of right to life violations, followed by Abuja with five.

According to Imo, the persons accused of extrajudicial executions, among other charges, including illegal arrest and detention, threats to life, are ASP Columbus Aniosor, Inspector Nwachukwu, Inspector Ndidi Nwaneri, Inspector Femi, CSP Godfrey Ogbeide Victor (OC SARS, Imo), TSA Banjoko (OC SARS, Akokova, Imo State) and Corporal Echara Alisa.

The five accused of the extrajudicial executions in Abuja are Inspector Augustine Nwobodo, Sergeant Nuhu Shuaybu, Commander Mohammed Tetenghi, Inspector Dennis Matthew and Police Inspector Felix Onuoha.

The trio Nvobodo, Shuaibu and Tentegi were accused not only of extrajudicial executions, but also of refusing to free the bodies of the victims.

In Lagos, only Inspector Akim Balogun was charged with murder, and two others, Inspector Ibukun Olusoga and Columbus security officer, were charged with enforced disappearance.

The remaining states, Enugu, Delta and Kaduna, have one extrajudicial killings each.

Sergeant Paul Everest was charged with alleged torture leading to his death in custody in Enugu State.

ASP Muyiwa has been charged with unlawful arrest, detention and extrajudicial killing in Delta State.

In Kaduna State, Inspector Yakubu Baba was charged with torture, violation of the right to life and human dignity.

In addition to confirmed cases of extrajudicial executions, the jury has ordered further investigations of nine of these cases in the states of Imo, Benue, Quara, Kogi, Lagos and Rivers.

The jury directed a further investigation into “the circumstances leading to the death of Collins Okoronkwo Ezenwa and the officers responsible for his death” in Imo State.

He also directed the coroner’s investigation into the death of Ugwese Scientist in the state.

In Benue State, a jury has called for further investigations into the extrajudicial killings in two cases.

In one case, he ordered an investigation “to reveal the identities of the police officers involved in the heinous murders of Aganda Adi and Olove Adi.”

He also ordered “an investigation into all officers operating on 9 September 2016 in the Akpehe District of Abu Shuluwa Street, Makurdi, Benue State, at around 19:30 in accordance with existing police rules and regulations.”

“The investigation should identify the officers responsible for the death of the deceased, and the role played by the senior police officers responsible for investigating the death,” the statement said.

He also spearheaded the coroner’s investigation into the deaths in the states of Kwara and Kogi, a further investigation “to uncover the identities of the police officers involved in the gruesome murder of Adam Haruna.”

In Lagos, a jury ordered an investigation into retired officer Wilson Okanya into the extrajudicial killing of Ogadi Enverem.

In Rivers, a jury ordered an investigation into “the circumstances leading to the alleged extrajudicial killing of Mr. Ajibade Ademisoye” and the death of Mr. Bright Ogolom.

Meanwhile, Lagos Governor Babajide Sanvo Olu said the state justice department is prosecuting 31 police officers for crimes ranging from murder, manslaughter, armed robbery to attempted murder and serious bodily harm. …

The governor tweeted @jidesanwoolu this Friday along with a list of police officers prosecuted for “crimes of human rights abuses in Lagos.”

The list also includes judges of first instance and updated dates for subsequent cases.

Sanwo-Olu said the ongoing trial demonstrates the government’s commitment to “end police brutality.”

The list includes Inspector Surulere Irede, Sergeant Sunday Ogunemi and Corporal Hezekiah Babatunde, who are jointly tried on manslaughter charges before Judge Ogunsanei; and Sergeant Shogun Okun and Commander Adekunle Oluvarotimi, who are jointly tried for manslaughter and attempted murder before Judge Nicole Clay.

Other individual accused are Ogunemi Olalekan (murder), Sergeant Gbavuan Isaac (serious bodily injury), Amina Joseph (murder), Sergeant Alechenu Benedict (armed robbery), Sergeant Adebayo Abdullahi (manslaughter of others), and Inspector Mohammed ), Matthew Chansey (murder), Adam Dare (murder), Sergeant Mark Argo and five others (conspiracy and armed robbery) and Corporal Pepple Boma (manslaughter).

Also on the Insp list are Emmanuel Akpodana (attempted murder), Emmanuel Uyankveke (manslaughter), Akanbi Lukmon (manslaughter), Edohe Omokija (homicide), Afolabi Saka (homicide), Gabriel Monday (homicide), Yahi Adesina (manslaughter) … )) and Aremu Musiliu (murder).

Lagos Attorney General Mr. Moyosore Onigbanjo (SAN), who published the list, said: “The Lagos Department of Justice has over time committed to prosecuting the listed and related police cases. I urge members of the public to keep an eye on how we continually work on these issues for the benefit of the general public. ”