Top WAEC Students Get N200k Annual Scholarship From Lagos Government (Photos)

Top WAEC Students Get N200k Annual Scholarship From Lagos Government (Photos)

The state government of Lagos led by Governor Sanwo-Olu has predicted that the two students in the state who performed best in the West African High School Certificate Exam (WASSCE) conducted last year to obtain a scholarship study of N200,000 every year …

The two beneficiaries, Abiodun Anuoluwapo Favor and Sholana Taiwo Mohammed come from the same school, Vetland Senior Grammar School, Agege, Lagos State.

Favor has excellent results in 8 subjects and Taiwo has excellent results in 7 subjects.

They are now all level 100 students at the University of Lagos (Akoka), studying medicine and surgery and chemical engineering respectively.

In addition, Favor scored 329 points (out of 400 points) in JAMB UTME, Solana scored 340 points.

Both will receive N200,000 annually until they graduate five or six years from UNILAG.

The State Councilor for Education, Mr. Folasade Adefisayo, commended the beneficiaries and their teachers for their outstanding performance in a speech at the event.

He urged them to continue to pay attention and engage in their academic and other legal activities while traveling.

Likewise, the state government also honored nine other students who won top prizes in various national and international academic competitions held last year, as well as one student from a private school.

Students include Mustapha Garuba of Abibat Mogaji Millenium High School and Ajasa Kehinde Timilehin of Jakande Estate Comprehensive Senior College, who won the star award for the Stockholm Youth Water Games in 2020 and 2021, and Divine Ebere of Vetland Senior Grammar School, of Agege and Olajide Akorede and Samuel Seidu of Brainfield College (private school) won first place in the national physics competition in 2020 and 2021 respectively.

Others are Oladipupo Marvelous of Agidingbi of Government Technical College and Samuel Seidu of Bransfield College. They won Best Critical Thinker in the 2021 African Leadership Academy Competition and second place in the Oluwole Awokoya Chemistry Competition in 2021.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.